Jet-Lag, Hot Dogs and Trains

Y’all.

And I do mean, y’all (I miss being surrounded by Texan accents).

I’m exhausted. It’s extremely difficult to put into words all the different types of tired I am feeling. I am physically tired after a twelve hour journey to Copenhagen yesterday. I am mentally tired from processing my new surroundings and choosing carefully every word I use to communicate with my host family and housemates. I am emotionally tired because I realized that I wouldn’t eat Chipotle for another four months, and dang did it make me feel sad.

BUT, more than tired, I feel so incredibly excited and blessed to be here in Copenhagen. I can already tell that it is going to be a welcoming place to live for the next semester.

To recap the past few days…

Toting my two suitcases, large duffel and over-stuffed backpack I hurriedly shoved my way through the crowd at the Copenhagen International Airport, and I was so relieved to immediately see my host parents and siblings waiting for me with open arms when I finally reached the Hilton Hotel. I’m not quite sure exactly what I was expecting before meeting my host family, but their kindness, warmness and gracious attitudes made me feel immediately at home. I also quickly bonded with the two other DIS students sharing my home, Allie and Kyle.

Airport
And away I go! I somehow managed to fit everything in my bags.

 

After a thirty minute drive through the city (narrated by my host father Benny), we arrived at our home in Vanløse, and Alice (my host mother) showed us to our rooms. Allie and I share a precious little room tucked away from the main part of the house. It really is very cozy, and I’m sure it will be the perfect place to unwind after a long day of classes. With some “help” from our little host sister Amanda (who is only five), Allie and I unpacked and settled into our rooms before a taco dinner. We were all so tired after traveling that we went straight to bed after dinner.

The Andersen House in Cph.
My beautiful home for the next four months

 

This morning  we were awoken by the sweet greetings of Alice inviting us for breakfast outside on the porch. We enjoyed a delicious spread of bread, jam, honey, and chocolate (!!!! for breakfast guys, this is no joke!!!!!!) The weather right now is absolutely amazing, and the early morning breeze was a wonderful companion for our excited morning chatter.

After breakfast, Alice and my host sister Amalie, who is 13, showed us how to use the metro to get to our classes and then gave us a walking tour of the city of Copenhagen. The modernity of Copenhagen is so hyped up in travel guides and blogs, but I was certainly not expecting the city to feel so regal. With charming,narrow cobblestone streets, Copenhagen felt like the streets of Disneyworld. I cannot imagine walking through this beautiful buzzing city every day for class. It is absolutely breathtaking.

Harbor line
The breathtaking Copenhagen harbor

 

Our walking tour was cut short because Kyle, Allie and I had to rent our bicycles for the semester, and after that process was over we were pretty exhausted. We returned home and Alice packed up a picnic lunch for us to enjoy at a nearby park. There was a music festival going on, and we watched a few members of the Danish Royal Opera perform while enjoying traditional Danish hot-dogs (and boy, did they live up to the hype!)

Later that evening we met another American student, Anna, who is staying just a few streets over. I feel so incredibly lucky to not only be living with two other American students, but also to be so close to another friend. It certainly is the best of both worlds, as I get to experience Danish culture up close and personal, but also have an immediate support group of Americans who are going through the same struggles and triumphs in our new city.

Tomorrow is our first day of orientation, and I’m so looking forward to exploring the city more on my own and also meeting more American students.

Until then!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

